Governors / Local Advisory Board

Welcome to the Morningside Governors/Local Advisory Board page, this page will tell you who the local advisory board are, their roles and how they play an active part in ensuring the success of the school.

Who we are

The Primary Advantage Federation has a central governing board with representatives from all eight schools. Each school has a local advisory board that meets at least four times a year and supports the Headteacher and Executive Principal in making strategic decisions that will improve outcomes for pupils. Each local advisory board reports to the central governing body once a term. At Morningside, it is made up of a collection of people which includes the schools head teacher, elected members of school staff, elected parents and selected representatives from the local community. The Chair of Central Governing Board (Foundation) is Louis Coiffait. If you would like further information about the Central Governing Board, please click this link

What do we do at Morningside?
We have some big responsibilities; making important decisions for the school. This involves things like looking at how the school spends its annual budget, ensuring the school meets the requirements of the national curriculum, setting targets and monitoring achievements. We are also involved in things like staffing decisions and ensuring that the school premises are well maintained. As well as these, overall, we aim to do whatever we can to be supportive of the school, its staff and all of the pupils.

Central Governing Board – Governors

Governors Type
Gwen Gutzmore Acting Chair Of Governors   –   LDBS (Foundation)
Sian Davies
Executive Principal – Ex Officio
Donna Thomas Local Authority
Anna Case Staff
Melissa McIntyre Parent
Nina Pope Parent
Andrew Bedford Foundation
Rev’d Graham Hunter Foundation
Heather Rockhold Foundation
Frankie Vinelott Foundation
Bridget Fagan Foundation


Local Advisory Board Members

Governors Type Link Area
Heather Rockhold Co-opted Chair of local advisory board SEN ,Literacy, Music, Science, School Council and Curriculum
Janet Taylor (Headteacher) Associate Local Advisory Board
Jo Stonehouse (Deputy Head) Associate Local Advisory Board Maths and IT
Jane Betsworth Associate Local Advisory Board Finance, Admissions/Attendance Review,  PPG, EYFS & PE
Damian Holt Associate Local Advisory Board Asset Management, Health & Safety Premises, Policy & Human Resources
Dr Sally Glen Associate Local Advisory Board Safeguarding
Melanie Venables Associate Local Advisory Board Equality


If you would like more information on The Central Governing Board and its impact statement for 2017-18 please see the report below:

Register of Business Central Governing Board 18-19


Governance report 2017-18


Gwen Gutzmore can be contacted in writing or email at the following address:

The Chair of Central Governing Board
Primary Advantage c/o Holy Trinity CE Primary School,
Beechwood Road,
E8 3DY

Tel: 020 7254 1010

If you would like further information about the work of the central governing board please click on the link below.